top of page

Julie Sundara

INTERVIEW WITH JULIE SUNDARA www.sundaralifesystem.com

I met Sundara in Seattle on a job in 2012. She was moonlighting as a stylist at Amazon to make some extra money. It was a strange time in both of our lives. We felt immediately connected to one another. We spoke the same language. She came to me as she always does, at a time when I really needed her in my life. I was confused about health problems that I was having. She showed me some little exercises to do in her hotel room, which were helpful. The most significant thing that Sundara showed me was myself. She can read energy and auras and see deep into people immediately. She saw me and she saw my strengths and my true path, and I believe she even saw into my past. She could see my ability to heal, and told me.

She showed me what it's like to live the life of your dreams as a single mom. How to get rid of all of your belongings and travel the world and know that the universe will provide for you. How to be your authentic self and not give a shit about what the haters think about you. She is one of the women in my life that I don't see a lot (because she is always a traveling gypsy) but I know that beyond any doubt she is with me always. When I think of her she calls or texts. And I know she is out there. An alien, a fairy, a treasure bringing light and laughter and fun and the ability to "let go" to everyone she comes dancing by. When we see each other it's always the same. It is sister love. And like all sisters, we save each other from the brink just a little bit every time.

Julie Sundara is is an inutitive and energetic healer, life coach, senior yoga instructor, longevity expert and physical/emotional therapist.She created The SYSTEM – a safe and easy physical/emotional method of postures, exhaling and inner work, that brings fully proven results due to the anicent wisdom and future knowledge she has accesed, channeled and understood.

Tell me your name and a little bit about yourself. My name is Julie Sundara. I’m originally from NY and I live all over the world! (laugh)

Tell me a little about what you do. What’s your profession? Currently, my profession is to work one on one with people to guide them, so they love their lives. I work with groups and businesses to guide and inspire people to find the ultimate in their potential in everything that they are doing so they are happy with themselves and with other people. So that is the end result of what I do, and the process of how to get there is not quantifiable. Like art, it just is, and it “becomes” with each person or group that comes in front of me.

How did you get into doing this? Well, I didn’t really have a choice. When I was sixteen years old, it was like I got hit on the head with some force, and it threw me back on my bed and I started to vision. I got out of this experience, which was inexplicable, and out of my normal context of life, it made me search out Native American and culture first. Then I started reading books that Carlos Casteneda wrote and stumbled upon Indian philosophy and started to open up my world into meditation, dynamic meditation, yoga and the esoteric arts. This is almost 30 years ago, so it was like a hidden world and something that was not status quo. I went against the grain of my family and my education and my upbringing because it was calling me so strong. I realized I had a gift to be able to read people and to know where the root cause of their emotional imbalance was coming from. It’s just a long journey of discovering my gift and being around a lot of masters who could share their knowledge.

Were you raised with any religion or spirituality in your life? No, I was raised Jewish but with not spirituality whatsoever. My mom is a self proclaimed athiest and my dad is an agnostic with strong cultural ties to Judaism but no spirituality. No, there was no magic in our house. So it was because of this experience that happened to me when I was 16 that I went on this journey. Everyone thought I was crazy. My family and my friends...

How do they feel about you now?

They’re impressed with my life because it’s brought me all around the world and I’ve met a lot of famous people, and heads of corporations. So they are impressed but still have absolutely no idea what I do. I taught yoga for a while and this was something they could understand because it is physical and became popular, but they don’t understand it.

If you could tell everyone in the world three things that would change their lives for the better, what do

you think those three things would be?

Well if you live in a country like America or England, go to a country that is called an underdeveloped country at least once in your life. Experience culture and non western mentality because it really gives you a true grasp on gratitude and appreciation…which would be the next thing I would tell anyone. If you want to have a life that you love, you have to cultivate appreciation, even for the simplest things. Even if you hate your life and you’re in prison. If you can be grateful that there’s water running, or that you are breathing, and that there is blood running through your veins, you can get a better life by just that appreciation. And the third thing is that if you are not living in a rural place where food is just grown naturally, that you should be incredibly determined everyday to find the best quality food without chemicals and preservatives or GMOs. This is very important for the planet to help the planet preserve and to have a higher vibration. Because those chemicals and the torture…people are eating them and it makes them more evil... GET OUT OF THE WESTERN WORLD, LEARN APPRECIATION ALL THE TIME AND WATCH THE QUALITY OF THE FOOD YOU EAT.

How many countries have you traveled to? Currently 50. Most of them multiple times. I just think there are so many countries I haven’t traveled to yet.

Of all of the places that youve been to, which place do you feel needs the most healing energy? Well the first place that comes to mind is America just because of the massive power it has on the world for creating ideology and standards of life that that are not humane and not helping the world, the planet, the animals or people. Yet somehow its pervasive and becoming ubiquitous around the world. I think, I can’t really say one country in particular. Go in the houses of the people in huge corporations and rich powerful families that are running the world. I don’t think we can say its one place that needs it. The planet needs light. The world powers not specific countries.

America and England have somehow run through every single country on planet Earth and its not so positive and the proof is what’s going on on the planet right now. In my travels I find that America has the need for most light because they’re the forefront of separation mentality and what we need is togetherness, so that would be my answer.

Is there any place that you find to be the most magical? (this interview was recorded the day before the bombing in Brussels airport.)

Belgium. Brussels is a wonderful model. It’s a microcosm of a macrocosm of how we can all live in harmony, with a way of life in a social society where everyone is respected and everyone has a voice. Creativity is supported and they are ecologically positive. Implementing new ecological systems is embraced. Politically, they want to bring peace to the world, yet they are not separatists. Belgium is a really great place. The problem is that it doesn’t have a lot of historical weight like England, or Italy, or Rome, or Russia and it’s not a fighting country but it is an example of togetherness much more than I‘ve seen anywhere in the world.

So why do you think you were given this gift?

ahhaaa so I could meet you!! (laugh) hmmm why was I given this gift.? my goodness. I feel like I was someone who was sent here to recognize and inspire people back to their limitless, back to their light. Also, to remember that everyone is going through what you’re going through. So, as much as you feel isolated and insular and insecure and all those things, everyone feels it. That is what I make people feel ok with. I guess that is why I have been given this gift.

Were you technically trained at all? Ummm..nooooish... I did do a lot of psychology courses when I was in university, and cultural anthropology. That definitely gave me the ability to talk to people all over the world. That was a training I needed, and I traveled a lot in non-western countries when I was quite young.

I’ve been around a lot of masters for my own process of healing, neurosis and insecurities and sickness and all that. I attracted so many masters, master healers, master yoga teachers, masters of psychic meditation, whatever you want to call it. Those people immediately saw my gift and worked with me for free or invited me along to start being a teacher with them and train, which was amazing and gave me a lot of confidence. But I don’t have a single degree...I don’t even have a degree in psychology...so no and yes...

Who do you look up to in your life as in gurus or famous teachers or friends who inspires you? You inspire me. My daughter is someone I really look up to. Every single person in my life inspires me. There’s a few people currently that I am impressed by in my field. There is a woman called Marie Forleo and she’s more about business, but she brings in spirituality and self love and that you can do anything. You can create your life and do anything you want. She has a web tv show and a blog and she has a business school and she really inspires me. She is this woman from New Jersey who tells ridiculous jokes and is so silly and somehow made it. Her style is very good and I’m really impressed by her. I had a guru that I still feel in my heart called Sri Ananda Maya Ma, who died many years before I even knew who she was. She died in 1982, I believe. She embodies Light and Unconditional Love for all living things. I look up to her. Honestly, I look up to all women on the planet, especially mothers, because no one knows what we do. I look up to them because they should be looked up to. I don’t look up to anyone famous that I have met so far. I just look at them. I was pretty impressed by your mom to be honest.

How do you protect yourself from energy that does not serve you for your highest good, especially when you are working with your clients?

That’s a great question and it’s something I teach people who I work with who are healers and they’re feeling really thrown off. Basically what you do is, you connect your mind with your heart and its almost like an on and off switch. You get into heart and you push down the switch all the way down to the navel where I consider is the seat of the soul. I feel like that is where our soul resides. You push it down and it’s off and you can be around someone with the worst energy and you can pretty much shut their field out from you. It’s a concentrated effort, like if some one is sitting next to you on the subway, its like ..SHHHHUT! takes a lot of effort, but when you are working with a client, you turn that switch ON. From the seat of your soul up to your heart and up to your intuitive eye. You are completely open to them and as soon as the session is done, you shut it off, and as you shut it off it’s like the eraser thing on the board. You shake it and swipe it down and all of it is gone. Then I wash my hands with water. if someone is really toxic and I’ve touched them, I wash my hands with salt. If its really really bad, I exhale very strongly five times like I’m blowing smoke...CHUUUU and their energy is gone. The switching on and off of the inner switch is the most important that I’ve found on my journey.

You can teach it to people if they are overly sensitive or in a bad relationship. You can teach them you don’t have to take everything in. We have that ability. It enhances your psychic ability when you turn it on, because it’s more refined. For me it was easy to learn to turn it on and off, but before I was suffering a lot, taking people’s pain and wondering, why do I feel sick ? why do I feel like I’m going to cry?

If you could change something in the world today, what would that be?

That would look like people holding hands instead of building walls. That’s it, no more borders just people holding hands. It gets me to cry that we are so separate and in every microcosm of the world there is separation and it’s insipid. We can’t even cut it out of our veins anymore. We do it because in the western society we are raised as a global community of separated individuals. It doesn’t feel good. I was reading in a book this morning that they asked prisoners if they would rather to be separated in total isolation or to be kept with the worst prisoners. They chose the worst prisoners because we are social creatures and separation is killing our clan. (the book was "Sex at Dawn")

I liked what you were saying to my son Hugo yesterday how important it is to go to different countries, but how silly it is to have to have a passport and a visa. Its one earth, why can’t we just go wherever we want?

Yeah...just have one passport...and just be human. It’s demoralizing when you wait in line in New York at immigration. It’s like you’re going into a prison inspection to enter a place on planet earth. That would be my answer...what would be your answer to that question?

I really think I would change people’s mindset about eating shitty food.....its like it’s cool to eat bad things. Why can’t it be cool to eat your Brussel sprouts and your greens? Why is it so cool to poison your body? Well, I will say this because I traverse the upper echelons of society in pretty big countries like France, Belgium and England, New York, Miami, LA. Etc.. I know a lot of those people. They become my clients and those people who are the forefront of fashion, music, yahoo, movie stars...whatever, they’re all becoming raw food...paleo is very big in Germany, vegan...macha latte.. etc… I think it is becoming cool but as you say...it’s still separate and expensive and weird...

That’s what I mean ..I want it to change...I wish there was a way Yeah...I’ve been reading that MacDonald’s revenue is starting to decline and they are forced to sell better food. I think it’s happening. You don’t see it in your social circles?

I see some but for the most part people still just say. “well you’re so healthy” in a negative tone so that its not supported...And it's not available for everyone. We still give our kids sugar and ice cream sundaes as a treat. you've been good, here is some poison.

Well the way you eat, I was eating that way 25 yrs ago...

Yeah, I’ve been eating this way for a long time too now, but its still just feels like it’s looked down on or its just too expensive to eat in a healthy way. It’s for the rich, or people in New York, or LA etc… There are so many clients that I work with who will say, “you know I was not raised that way and I just have to relearn everything “and so a big part of working with my clients is teaching them how to relearn how to eat and how to feed yourself in a healthy way and mostly how to look at it in a different way.

What is the demographic of your clients?

Well it’s not only white. I definitely have had middle eastern and latin and Asian, happily as many men as women. And in teaching yoga, I’m not airy-fairy, so I don’t just get women clients. I also get the people who are skeptical and then they believe it. In yoga and in with healing, I think it’s really important especially with healers, to leave out all the mystical esoteric stuff and save that for when you already have them on board or when you are with your people that you’re socializing with. It’s going to happen anyway, so why push away people with mysticism when it’s not what’s important. What’s important is that you get them back in alignment with that energy. It doesn’t matter how you do it. I would still say that the asian, latin and middle eastern people that I work with are highly educated, upper middle class or aristocratic background or new money, but they’re all from you, up. That’s why I want to do videos, so I can reach a lot more people and then teaching groups is good too. It’s the best to work with people one on one, but I don’t know how to open that up to the whole planet because it takes a lot of energy. Do you find that with other people who you interview?

Well no...I think some people do sliding scale so they can work with different demographics. Alright I have a few more question left...what does your daily regimen look like? how do you keep yourself bright and shiny?

The morning is my precious time. I believe coffee is good for me and for most people, without sugar and without milk. Just black coffee is what I drink and I sit and am quiet. No phone, no music, no people...nothing...just quiet. It can be for five minutes or an hour depending on how much time I have. Then, I do my very elemental positions and breathing techniques that keep me oxygenated and young. My digestion is perfect and my body feels really good most of the time. Sometimes I meditate. I don’t meditate every day because I have the multidimentional travel, and it takes me some time to come back into earth and I don’t like to experience that everyday. That’s why I sit quiet with my coffee. It’s like a ritual even the making of it is so precious for me. Its like meditation for me. Just sitting quietly and the breathing and then doing my poses. Then I can start my day and see anyone and do anything. That’s what keeps me good. Long walks in Nature everyday if possible...but the morning ritual is the real thing.

If you didn’t have to worry about money, if that was not a concern, if it wasn’t a care of yours and you

just had tons to spare and you could be anything you wanted to be and you would get all the skill that came with that...like you could be an astronaut and you would know how to be an astronaut...what would you choose to be?

I would choose to be me still, but I would have the space and the material to make my art. It’s the most important thing first in my soul right now. Maybe my art would inspire people to be limitless and I would have people around me who could help me promote myself and make videos and interviews like this which is what I have been trying to call into my life so I can share what I already have skills for. I would like to share this. I feel like it’s my duty somehow to share this with people, so I’d like to have the financial foundation and to to have a team to help me do it. Because I don’t like to work a lot but I like to show up and perform and teach I would like to be in a barn making my art. That’s how I feel I can contribute the best to the planet...so that’s what I am doing...beaming it in.

Is there anything else you want to say or you want to bring up

Yes, I would like all people on this planet to know that they have free will and that their minds can talk to their bodies and to loved ones and they don’t need to be sick and they don’t need to have drama. That’s what I want everyone to know. It’s all ok. Really if you feel like you have drama and problems in your life ...it's your life. You can change it. You have free will.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page